ATI driver install – less than pleasent experience

I just updated to version 7.9 of the ATI display driver (with Catalyst Control Center (CCC)) today and I have to say, man it leaves a load of unnecessary crap running in the background!
 
Here’s what I had to do to get rid of them – and that’s after I’ve already unchecked all the crap that came with the driver + CCC installer:
REG DELETE "HKLMSOFTWAREMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionRun" /v StartCCC /f
REM Unregisters the context menu!
regsvr32 /u "C:Program FilesATI TechnologiesATI.ACECore-Staticatiacmxx.dll"
sc config "ATI Smart" start= disabled
sc config "Ati HotKey Poller" start= disabled
taskkill /f /im ati2evxx.exe
taskkill /f /im MOM.exe
taskkill /f /im CCC.exe
 
Yes, I know I can just install the driver only version but if I want to configure the card, I have to install the CCC in this version – since ATI made the oh-so-clever decision to take those configurations out of the "advanced" properties window (from desk.cpl), grrrh!
 
I would love it if someone can explain to me why I have to install the CCC and its full "framework" in order to configure those settings, especially when it was working fine in version 6.x configuring them through the advanced properties window…
 
Also, what’s up with putting a link to the CCC at the top of every file and folder context menu in explorer.exe?  I ain’t a gamer and I rarely need access to the CCC! – Good job I can unregister that dll Wink !
 
 
—- Update —-
2007-09-28 @ 16:21:
On the plus side, I do see improvements in the following area:
  • H.264 decoding seems to be quite a bit better
  • Dragging transparent windows around is a lot more responsive – it really lagged before!
 
Leave a Reply

